13.1

I think I’ve mentioned once before that I’m training for my first half marathon.  (I say “first” as if I’m certain there will be a second!  We’ll see about that.)

top_racename

How it all started:

Two guys in my office are serious marathoners (as in, one ran the Boston Marathon yesterday in 2 hours 55 minutes – which isn’t even his best time of 2 hours 38 MINUTES – and the other did a 50-mile “training run” this past weekend).  They decided to start up a comprehensive half marathon training program for our team for the Seattle Rock ‘n Roll Half Marthon (including shoe fitting/discounts, nutrition seminars, and our running plan).  Out of 40 people in our office, there are over twenty signed up to run.  I think a participation rate of over 50% is pretty unbelievable! 

Of course I signed up – you know I hate missing out on anything.  I have two goals with this race: 

  1. Finish the half marathon, running (as in not walking)
  2. Learn to like running as a result of all of this training

 half_training_plan

 

 

How it’s going: 

 

So here’s the thing:  I’ve never hated running…but I’ve never really liked it, either.  It’s always felt like a chore to me – something to do to stay in (or get into) shape, or to train for dance or sports that I played.  I’ve rarely run just for the sake of running. 

 

Hence, goal number two:  I’d love to at least like it when this race is over.  To put on my two shoes and turn on my ipod and just…go.  To not be tied down to gyms all the time.  To run in the rain.  To run in the sun.  To run when I travel as a way to see new and unfamiliar places.  (Running 8 miles in Maui last weekend allowed me to see the island in a different way.  And if I’m able to swing a trip to San Francisco over Memorial Day weekend as I’m hoping, I’ll need to run 11 miles there – and I’m sure there are some great routes.) 

 

Now, after two months of training, I think I can finally say that I’m on my way to goal number two.  It’s not that I love every second of every run (I don’t).  But I had to take the past week off from running due to being annoyingly sick (it’s been that bad), and I’m finding that I actually miss it!  I think that’s a good sign.  (You can see all of the missing scratch-offs on my training plan above.) 

 

I’m actually looking forward to getting back on track and running after work tonight.  (And now I need to come back and reread this post when I’m feeling lazy…)

 

Tags: ,

One Response to “13.1”

  1. Half Marathon Countdown « Love Home, Will Travel Says:

    […] Marathon Countdown By Erin I’m in absolute shock that the half marathon I’m running is only 4 days away!  The training has been quite a time commitment, but it’s […]

Leave a Reply

