Let’s recap what I’ve done so far on my whole office project:

Hmm…the answer to that question is Nothing.

But that’s OK.  I’ve come to realize that I am not one to trade off too many other forms of fun to get this done.  I’m 27, work long hours most of the time, and tend to prioritize things like dinner/drinks/movie/skiing/nights out (unless I’m feeling really off on a given day).

Even if I wasn’t doing those things, I’d probably be watching TV, twittering/facebooking, and reading blogs more than working on this room.  I know myself.

Plus, I’ve been going to yoga classes almost every day for the last few weeks – so, I may be a girl with a messy and unfinished office, but at least I’m a happy and more-in-shape-than-a-month-ago girl with a messy and unfinished office. 

All of that being said – I made a list (of course) of the next few tasks ahead so I can get going on this room in my spare time.  Unfortunately, these tasks have more to do with getting rid of the crap than they do making the room pretty, but that is the reality I’m facing.

  1. Go through the pile of papers/mail that’s sitting in the “catch-all milk crate” next to my deskblackhole
  2. Go through the papers/magazines/mail that I stuffed in a shopping bag as a last-ditch effort to clean before my Entourage marathon party a few weeks agobag
  3. Figure out more ways to go paperless so I can stop accumulating papers/magazines/mail
  4. Get rid of almost everything in my freestanding cabinet.  This should be possible, because I don’t open the cabinet EVER other than to get some printer paper.  Clearly it does not house things I need.cabinet
  5. Post the following items on Craigslist (some of which will be free): Old brass lamp, small bookshelf, and the freestanding cabinet mentioned above (if I successfully clear it out).
  6. Part with certain random sentimental items in the room by taking a picture of each one, so I don’t feel guilty when I get rid of it (example: a little cardboard kids-meal box car that my mom got from Ruby’s Diner on my first night in Seattle.  Yes, sometimes I save things like that.)
  7. Fill up at least one or two Goodwill bags
  8. Start working on a plan for the room – what furniture stays and what I want to buy (right now all I have is a vague color pallette and some potential furniture purchases)
  9. Paint the walls the color that I picked out awhile ago as part of my vague color pallette (Valspar Woodlawn Silver Brook, lots of white, brightly-colored accents). 

(Can you tell that I love the Scribble iphone application?  It’s free!)

I’m going to try to paint the walls on February 7th and 8th during the day, so ideally, all of these other items will be done by then.  Am I crazy?  I personally think so, even though not one of these steps is a big deal by itself.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

