Day Trip: Skiing at Crystal Mountain

After two scheduled ski days falling through in the last few weeks, I crossed my fingers that I would actually make it onto a mountain this weekend.  (Part of the grand plan for my 2-year stint in Seattle is to become a “good skier” – which does require actual skiing!) 

img_33481

Thankfully, everything went as planned!  Above is a view of the bottom of some of the trails at Crystal Mountain, about an hour and a half south of Seattle and very close to Mt. Rainier. 

img_33502

I drove down with two friends from work.  We arrived around 10:30, parked and took the “shuttle” (more specifically, the flatbed truck with benches built on the back) over the unpaved parking lots to the lodge.  It was possibly the bumpiest ride I’ve ever taken in a moving vehicle. 

View from the truck shuttle:

img_3355

The skiing was well worth it!  Crystal is the largest ski area in Washington State, as the website is quick to point out.  The runs were nice and long (more like big resorts, less like the local spots outside of Seattle), the skies were blue and sunny for part of the day (a rare occurrence), and I even decently navigated a wrong turn down a steep, mogul-y run that I should NOT have been on in the first place. 

We were laughing at this picture of our skis next to each other on the rack:

img_33543

If you know me, you can probably tell which skis are mine.  I’m practically the shortest adult I know here in Seattle – it truly seems like people are taller here than in other places I’ve lived.

It was a great day trip.  I definitely plan to go back – and soon.  Next time, I’ll head to the peak, take in the Mt. Rainier views, and ski all the way down.  The  others in my group didn’t want to take on the runs at the top of the mountain yesterday…and I decided against tackling them alone.

Skiing at Crystal also means I checked off another item from my “Seattle List”  – the evolving “to do and see” list I made when I moved.  It includes skiing at all of the major ski areas around here – Whistler, Snoqualmie, Alpental, Crystal Mountain, Stevens Pass, Mt. Baker, etc. 

The List should definitely be a subject for another post, whenever I’m able to find the time!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

