First Post! Happy Resolutions

I think 2009 is going to be the year that I’ll stop making just one big official New Year’s Resolution.  They frustrate me – which is weird, because at heart I’m a total over-achiever AND list-maker.  I always feel like I’ve let myself down as I make the same general resolutions year after year. 

I’m still all about reflecting at the end of one year and looking ahead to the next. But the idea of ONE resolution for the next 365 days just feels too big and daunting. Instead, I’m planning just to focus on doing more things that make me happy – more attainable, and probably more satisfying.

So, here are some of my happy resolutions, off the top of my head, and in no particular order:

  1. Read books. I’m always reading magazines, websites and blogs, and therefore don’t make enough time for books. Finishing a book last week – for the first time in a long time – felt so good (btw, it was A Thousand Splendid Suns – REALLY good, and I’m still thinking about it days later).  I have a stack of about 10 books on my nightstand just waiting for me.
  2. Get better at Photoshop.  I love creating just about anything, and Photoshop is my latest tool of choice.  I’m definitely a beginner, but I’m learning and working on a few little projects right now.  More to come.
  3. Embrace my love of decorating and home design.  I’ve made pretty slow progress on my condo, probably because I’m always traveling (and maybe because I’m addicted to reading other people’s design blogs instead of working on my own place).  I have high hopes to start the year off by creating a fabulous new office or having hardwood floors installed in my living room.  From there…who knows?
  4. Go to yoga.  I’m really bad at relaxing in general, but after moving to Seattle last year, I discovered Bikram Yoga – and I LOVE it (but haven’t gone to class in a few months).  Conveniently, I have a new yoga towel that I received for Christmas, and some amazingly discounted new yoga clothes from the lululemon outlet in Burlington, WA (this outlet was unbelievable – I’m talking $84 pants for $12).  So I am SET!
  5. Start blogging (yes, this one first post counts as “starting,” so…one down!)

With this list is in writing, I’m on the hook to keep up with it.  I’ll probably add new things as I check some of these off.  Now, off to enjoy a day off from work, and of course drink some champagne tonight!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

